Political science news

The scholarly work of 93 Northwestern College undergraduate and graduate students will be on display during the college’s Celebration of Research on Thursday, April 12, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Rowenhorst Student Center.

Dr. John Inazu, an expert in the First Amendment freedoms of speech, assembly and religion, will visit Northwestern College Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Northwestern appoints four to newly created academic dean positions
Karen Bohm Barker, Dr. Dean Calsbeek, Dr. Rebecca Hoey and Dr. Jeff VanDerWerff will serve as academic deans effective July 1.

Two Northwestern College students attended the Christian Student Leadership Conference Jan. 23–27 in Washington, D.C.

Connor Shaull, a senior history and political science major, has been invited to attend the Values and Capitalism Summer Conference in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Jeff VanDerWerff, professor of political science, has been named this year’s recipient of the Northwestern Teaching Excellence Award.

Northwestern College graduate Derefe Chevannes will address the issue of race and race relations within a biblical context during chapel service on Nov. 30.

Northwestern College political science professor Dr. Jeff VanDerWerff presented a paper at the Iowa Conference on Presidential Politics at Dordt College in Sioux Center.

Environmental activist to speak
Ed Fallon, an environmental activist who is walking the Iowa stretch of the proposed Bakken oil pipeline, will speak at Northwestern on April 16.

Doug Bandow, senior fellow at the Cato Institute, will speak on “The Morality and Theology of Capitalism” on Jan. 15.