Current season Tickets: $10/adults, $5/students

Tickets for theatre productions can be purchased online at nwciowa.edu/tickets or by contacting the box office at boxoffice@nwciowa.edu or 712-707-7098. 

The 2021-22 theatre season at Northwestern College begins with The Adam Bomb, a musical written and performed by former Northwestern theatre professor Mark Tyler Miller. The modern retelling of the story of Cain and Abel—set after Abel’s murder—focuses on Adam and Eve as they deal with the death of a child. The show explores themes of grief, separation, sin, truth, consequences and redemption.

Showtimes Venue
Friday, September 17, 6:00 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, September 18, 4:00 PMEngland Theatre

Illustration of pig and spider's web to announce "Charlotte's Web" play

 
Charlotte’s Web
, based on the well-known children's book by E.B. White, tells the tale of Wilbur, who is transformed from the runt of the litter into a prize-winning pig with the help of a young girl and a wise and gentle spider. The adaption by Joseph Robinette is directed by Drew Schmidt, associate professor of theatre.

Order tickets

Showtimes Venue
Friday, September 24, 6:00 PMAllen Theatre
Saturday, September 25, 4:00 PMAllen Theatre

Little Shop of Horrors poster sample

 
Little Shop of Horrors
is a Broadway and Hollywood sci-fi smash musical about a hapless flower shop assistant who raises a plant that feeds on human flesh and blood. Megan Weidner will serve as the guest director for the show, which was written by Howard Ashman. Theatre professor Ethan Koerner is designing Audrey II, the Venus flytrap-like carnivorous plant around which the plot revolves. Koerner's puppet creations for last year’s children’s play, Jabberwocky, made it one of four productions cited for special achievement in puppet design at the 2021 national Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.

News release

Order tickets

Showtimes Venue
Thursday, October 28, 7:30 PMEngland Theatre
Friday, October 29, 7:30 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, October 30, 7:30 PMEngland Theatre
Thursday, November 4, 7:30 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, November 6, 2:00 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, November 6, 7:30 PMEngland Theatre
Showtimes Venue
Friday, October 29, 8:30 AM
Friday, April 29, 8:30 AM

Enjoy a holiday buffet of student-directed plays.

Senior Wyatt Waage is directing You’re in My Thoughts by Scott Haan. Junior Sofia Schaeffer’s selection is This Property is Condemned by Tennessee Williams. Senior Sabrina Van Gorp’s cast will be performing The Chocolate War by Stephanie Alison Walker.

 

Showtimes Venue
Friday, December 3, 7:30 PMEngland Theatre

Northwestern's Drama Ministries Ensemble will perform Remember, a selection adapted by junior Sierra Tumbleson. For her honors project, she has not only researched and adapted the play, but also has directed and written original music for the show. Scriptures are told using music, dance, liturgy, performance and live icons in a series of tableaus. No tickets and no charge.

Showtimes Venue
Friday, December 10, 7:30 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, December 11, 2:00 PMEngland Theatre
Friday, May 6, 7:00 PMProscenium Theatre

Students in a special topics theatre class will explore puppetry with Professor Koerner, whose work on last year’s “Jabberwocky” show was one of four productions cited for special achievement in puppet design at the national Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.

Showtimes Venue
Thursday, February 24, 7:00 PMEngland Theatre
Friday, February 25, 7:00 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, February 26, 7:00 PMEngland Theatre

Dancer performs C-jump

 
RUSH features a wide variety of dances, choreographed and performed by students. 

Order tickets

News release

Showtimes Venue
Thursday, March 24, 7:00 PMEngland Theatre
Thursday, March 24, 9:30 PMEngland Theatre
Friday, March 25, 7:00 PMEngland Theatre
Friday, March 25, 9:30 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, March 26, 4:00 PMEngland Theatre
Saturday, March 26, 7:00 PMEngland Theatre

An aristocratic Russian landowner returns to her family’s estate just before it is auctioned to pay the mortgage in this play that has been described as a comedy, farce and tragedy.

Order tickets

News release

Showtimes Venue
Friday, April 22, 7:30 PMAllen Theatre
Saturday, April 23, 2:00 PMAllen Theatre
Saturday, April 23, 7:30 PMAllen Theatre
Thursday, April 28, 7:30 PMAllen Theatre
Friday, April 29, 7:30 PMAllen Theatre
Saturday, April 30, 7:30 PMAllen Theatre
Showtimes Venue
Saturday, April 30, 5:00 PMVogel Community Room

Northwestern theatre students, faculty and staff will present a staged reading of Nobody Could Have Invented Our Lives: a survival fantasia. A staged reading is unlike a fully rehearsed and produced play in that the performers typically only rehearse a couple of times and read from their scripts while sitting on stools. 

THE STORY: Ruth Anderson, 42, mother of two, has nearly lost her mind. She is recovering from an abusive marriage and going through the painful and sometimes absurd territory of divorce. Watch her and her three friends as they journey together from pain and heartbreak to survival and healing.

The play was written by Dr. Debra Freeberg, an artist-in-residence on Northwestern's theatre faculty this semester. She is an emerita director of theatre and professor of communication at Calvin University. She has lectured and conducted workshops on directing, playwriting, children’s theatre, theatre history, communication and leadership across the U.S., Canada, Norway and Sweden.

Showtimes Venue
Wednesday, May 4, 7:00 PMProscenium Theatre

Staged readings of plays crafted by students in Northwestern’s playwriting class will be presented.

Showtimes Venue
Thursday, May 5, 7:00 PMProscenium Theatre

Showtimes Venue
Thursday, May 5, 8:00 PM
Friday, May 6, 8:00 PM
Saturday, May 7, 2:00 PM
Showtimes Venue
Monday, June 20, 8:30 AMDeWitt Theatre Arts Center
Tuesday, June 21, 8:30 AMDeWitt Theatre Arts Center
Wednesday, June 22, 8:30 AMDeWitt Theatre Arts Center
Thursday, June 23, 8:30 AMDeWitt Theatre Arts Center
loading
LOADING …